ETH researchers receive EU grants

Zurich – Ten professors from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH) have secured an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council. More than half the projects submitted by the ETH have therefore been granted funding by the EU.

The European Research Council (ERC) is part of the EU Research and Innovation programme Horizon 2020 and awards high-value grants in the area of fundamental research annually. This year, 2,167 projects applied but only 269 received an ERC Advanced Grant, the ETH revealed in a press release. The ETH submitted 18 applications, of which ten were successful. In the current round, further ERC Advanced Grants were awarded only to the French CRNS and Oxford University

The ten researchers from ETH have been awarded a total of around EUR 26 million by the EU. The funds will be used to support projects in seven ETH departments. The topics of the research projects, awarded between €2.2 million and €3.2 million each, include the development of electronically controlled gene circuits, the optimisation of data-intensive applications, the cycling of trace elements in the environment and research on weather processes. 

“ETH researchers from a wide range of disciplines have continually succeeded in asserting themselves against strong international competition with their projects,” Detlef Günther, ETH Vice President for Research and Corporate Relations, comments on the high success rate of ETH’s applications. “This proves the high quality of the entire spectrum of ETH research.” Three of the ETH researchers are even receiving the coveted ERC Advanced Grant for the second time. 

Interactive Industry Map
Bi-Monthly Updates

Get our industry newsletters

Clients and cases
+41 44 254 59 59
1:04 pm
+1 415 655 1045
1:04 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
1:04 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)

ETH-Forscher räumen EU-Förderung ab

Zürich - Zehn Professoren der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETH) haben einen Advanced Grant vom Europäischen Forschungsrat erhalten. Damit werden mehr als die Hälfte der von der ETH eingereichten Projekte von der EU finanziell gefördert.

Der zum Europäischen Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon 2020 gehörende Europäische Forschungsrat (ERC) vergibt alljährlich hoch dotierte Fördergelder im Bereich Grundlagenforschung. In diesem Jahr haben sich 2167 Projekte um eine Förderung beworben, von denen jedoch nur 269 einen ERC Advanced Grant zugesprochen bekommen haben, informiert die ETH in einer Mitteilung. Die ETH hatte 18 Anträge eingereicht, von denen zehn erfolgreich waren. Mehr ERC Advanced Grants wurden in der aktuellen Vergaberunde nur an die französische CRNS und die Oxford University vergeben. 

Den zehn Forschern der ETH werden von der EU dabei insgesamt rund 26 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung gestellt. Mit den Geldern werden Projekte in sieben ETH-Departementen unterstützt. Das Spektrum der mit jeweils 2,2 bis 3,2 Millionen Euro geförderten Forschungsprojekte umfasst unter anderem die Entwicklung elektronisch gesteuerter Genschaltkreise, die Optimierung datenintensiver Anwendungen, die Kreisläufe von Spurenelementen in der Umwelt und die Erforschung von Wetterprozessen. 

„Immer wieder können sich ETH-Forscherinnen und -Forscher aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten mit ihren Projekten gegen internationale Konkurrenz durchsetzen“, wird Detlef Günther, ETH-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Wirtschaftsbeziehungen, zur hohen Erfolgsquote der ETH-Anträge zitiert. „Das stellt die hohe Qualität der ETH-Forschung in ihrer ganzen Breite unter Beweis.“ Drei der in diesem Jahr mit einem ERC Advanced Grant bedachten ETH-Forscher erhalten die begehrte EU-Förderung zudem bereits zum zweiten Mal. hs

Interaktive Industrie Karte
Erfolgsgeschichten
+41 44 254 59 59
12:30 pm
+1 415 655 1045
12:30 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
12:30 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)