ETH lessons to use HoloLens

Zurich – Students at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH) will now be using Microsoft’s HoloLens to examine molecules. A specially developed app makes it possible to analyse proteins in the room.

The HoloLens is a special pair of glasses created by Microsoft. When wearing the HoloLens, the wearer not only sees the furniture and people present in the room, but also a hologram. In the case of the ETH, the virtual object is a protein that the students can walk around, investigate and even walk through.

They are currently being used as part of the Computer-Assisted Drug Design course run by Gisbert Schneider, Professor at the ETH. The aim is to give students a better understanding of the whole cycle of active drug ingredient development. “Among other things, the students learn how to screen a catalogue of millions of molecules to separate out the ones that could interact with a particular protein thanks to their form and function,” explains Professor Schneider in a press release.

The ETH was able to purchase 12 of these glasses thanks to a donation by an alumnus. Afca has offered to create the first app for the ETH. With this app, Molegram, ETH’s teaching has taken the first step into the world of mixed reality. In a second project, geomatics students are programming their own apps for HoloLens.

Interactive Industry Map
Bi-Monthly Updates

Get our industry newsletters

Clients and cases
+41 44 254 59 59
2:55 am
+1 415 655 1045
2:55 am
+86 21 6235 1889
2:55 am

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)

ETH setzt HoloLens im Unterricht ein

Zürich - Studierende an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETH) können Moleküle neu mit der HoloLens von Microsoft untersuchen. Dank einer eigens zu diesem Zweck entwickelten App lassen sich damit etwa Proteine im Raum analysieren.

Bei der HoloLens von Microsoft handelt es sich um eine spezielle Brille. Träger sehen damit nicht nur ganz normal die Möbel und Personen, die im Raum stehen, sondern gleichzeitig auch ein Hologramm. Im Fall der ETH ist dieses virtuelle Objekt ein Protein, das die Studierenden umrunden, erkunden und sogar durchschreiten können.

Zum Einsatz kommen die Brillen derzeit bei der Lehrveranstaltung Computer-Assisted Drug Design von ETH-Professor Gisbert Schneider. Sie sollen den Studierenden helfen, die Entwicklung von Medikamentenwirkstoffen besser zu verstehen. „Die Studierenden lernen unter anderem, wie man mittels Screening in einem Katalog mit Millionen von Molekülen jene aussortiert, die aufgrund ihrer Form und Funktion mit einem bestimmten Protein interagieren können“, erklärt Schneider in einer Mitteilung.

Die ETH konnte dank einer Spende eines Alumnus zwölf dieser Brillen anschaffen. Die Firma Afca hat angeboten, eine erste App für die ETH zu entwickeln. Mit dieser hat der Lehrbetrieb der ETH nun den ersten Schritt in Richtung Mixed Reality gemacht. In einem zweiten Projekt werden Geomatikstudierende selbst Apps für die HoloLens programmieren. ssp

Interaktive Industrie Karte
Erfolgsgeschichten
+41 44 254 59 59
6:59 am
+1 415 655 1045
6:59 am
+86 21 6235 1889
6:59 am

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)