Microsoft relies on top-notch research in Zurich

The Greater Zurich Area is one of the world’s most important centres for computer vision, says ETH professor Marc Pollefeys. IT giant Microsoft is now establishing a laboratory for mixed reality and artificial intelligence here – under Pollefeys’ leadership and in close cooperation with ETH Zurich.

 

Why is Microsoft opening a new laboratory in Zurich of all places?

Marc Pollefeys: The ecosystem is perfect here. The laboratory will focus on computer vision and artificial intelligence, which means teaching machines how to see. And in the field of computer vision, Zurich is a global leader alongside places like the Bay Area. It is not difficult here to find local talent and recruit new ones. Another contributing factor is no doubt that I had spent two years on a research visit at Microsoft in the US, where I helped further develop HoloLens, Microsoft’s mixed reality glasses.

What can computer vision contribute to mixed or augmented reality?

The essence of mixed Reality is to seamlessly combine Virtual elements with the real world.  For this it is critical to know precisely how the glasses move through the real world and understand the environment around the user. This problem is solved with computer vision. Similarly, computer vision is also used to observe the gestures of the user to let him interact with the virtual content. 

In which other fields do you see computer vision as a key technology?

Computer vision is also a key technology for machines that need to move or act in an environment that is not fully controlled. This applies to drones or other mobile robots and self-driving cars, but also to cars with advanced driver assistance. In fact, most new cars and many mobile phone apps now use computer vision technology. Cameras are often the most effective sensors for machines to perceive the world around them – just like humans who rely on their eyes to understand their surroundings.

Can you explain why Zurich is so far ahead in this complex field?

An ecosystem has developed in recent years with research institutions, startups and established companies, but the real trigger was no doubt ETH Zurich. Experts from various fields in engineering and computer science – all disciplines that are highly regarded at ETH Zurich – work here on matters related to machine learning. Contributing to this is also the fact that in addition to basic research, applied research and cooperation with industry are very important at ETH Zurich.

The Disney Research Lab in Zurich is also proof of this. Was that your role model?

I have advised Disney Research Lab on scientific issues and have seen how well these structures work. It may well be that we will work together in the future.

More concretely, what will you mainly work on in your laboratory?

These are projects with a long time horizon: if we have a vision of what the mixed reality glasses HoloLens should be able to accomplish in a few years’ time, then we will try to make this a reality. For us, it is about how HoloLens can concretely help people improve how they solve difficult problems, for example in complex repair work. We will then work on how the glasses can better perceive their environment or how different versions of HoloLens can communicate with each other.

How is the laboratory being organized?

We have been working since July, and six of the fifteen full-time positions have already been filled. We are focusing on recruiting scientists from computer vision and related fields such as machine learning and robotics. There will also be positions for ETH doctoral candidates. We are currently looking for premises close to ETH Zurich. I work 50 per cent at the lab and 50 per cent at ETH Zurich.

What do you appreciate about the parallels between university and lab work?

I enjoy brainstorming with innovative students on fundamental problems and working independently. But I also want to create something that will change the world a little bit. In Zurich, I can combine the best of both worlds with Microsoft and ETH Zurich, and, in my opinion, all sides can benefit from this.

 

Biography:

Marc Pollefeys has been a professor of computer science at ETH Zurich since 2007 and, since 2018, director of Microsoft’s Mixed Reality & AI Lab in Zurich. During his two-year research visit at Microsoft, he contributed to the development of the mixed reality glasses HoloLens. He has already received prestigious awards for his work and is involved in several startups.

Interactive Industry Map
Bi-Monthly Updates

Get our industry newsletters

Clients and cases
+41 44 254 59 59
1:40 pm
+1 415 655 1045
1:40 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
1:40 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)

Microsoft setzt auf Top-Forschung in Zürich

Der Wirtschaftsraum Zürich ist eines der weltweit wichtigsten Zentren für maschinelles Sehen, sagt ETH-Professor Marc Pollefeys. Nun gründet Microsoft hier ein Labor für Mixed Reality und künstliche Intelligenz – unter Pollefeys Leitung und in enger Kooperation mit der ETH Zürich.

 

Weshalb eröffnet der Technologiekonzern Microsoft gerade in Zürich ein neues Labor?

Marc Pollefeys: Das Ökosystem hier ist perfekt. Das Labor beschäftigt sich mit Computer Vision und künstlicher Intelligenz – das bedeutet, dass wir Maschinen das Sehen beibringen. Und im Bereich Computer Vision ist Zürich neben Orten wie der Bay Area weltweit führend. Hier fällt es nicht schwer, lokale Talente zu finden und neue anzuwerben. Beigetragen hat sicher auch, dass ich für einen Forschungsaufenthalt zwei Jahre bei Microsoft in den USA war und mitunter Microsofts Mixed-Reality-Brille HoloLens weiterentwickelt habe.

Welchen Beitrag leistet maschinelles Sehen für den Bereich der Mixed beziehungsweise Augmented Reality?

Die Essenz von Mixed Reality besteht darin, virtuelle Elemente nahtlos mit der realen Welt zu verbinden. Dabei muss man wissen, wie sich die Brille durch die reale Welt bewegt und man muss die Umgebung um den Benutzer herum verstehen. Dieses Problem wird mithilfe von Computer Vision gelöst. Zudem wird die Technologie dazu verwendet, um die Gesten des Benutzers zu beobachten, damit er mit den virtuellen Inhalten interagieren kann.  

In welchen anderen Bereichen sehen Sie maschinelles Sehen noch als Schlüsseltechnologie?

Computer Vision ist auch eine Schlüsseltechnologie für Maschinen, die sich in einer nicht vollständig kontrollierten Umgebung bewegen oder in dieser handeln müssen. Das trifft zu auf Drohnen und andere mobile Roboter, auf selbstfahrende Autos, aber auch auf Autos mit erweiterter Fahrerassistenz. In der Tat findet sich heute in den meisten neuen Autos und auch bei vielen Hany-Apps Computer-Vision-Technologie. Kameras sind oft die effektivsten Sensoren für Maschinen, um die Welt um sie herum wahrzunehmen – das ist wie beim Menschen, der sich meist auch auf seine Augen verlässt, um seine Umgebung zu verstehen.

Können Sie erklären, warum Zürich gerade in diesem komplexen Feld so weit vorn ist?

Inzwischen hat sich ein Ökosystem mit Forschungseinrichtungen, Start-ups und etablierten Unternehmen entwickelt, doch Auslöser war sicher die ETH Zürich. An Fragen zu maschinellem Lernen arbeiten hier Experten aus verschiedenen Bereichen des Ingenieurswesens und den Computerwissenschaften – alles Disziplinen, die an der ETH sehr renommiert sind. Zudem wirkte beflügelnd, dass neben Grundlagenforschung auch angewandte Forschung und Wirtschaftskooperationen an der ETH gross geschrieben werden. 

Ein Beweis hierfür ist ja auch das Disney Research Lab in Zürich – war das Ihr Vorbild?

Ich habe das Disney Research Lab in wissenschaftlichen Fragen beraten und mitbekommen, wie gut diese Strukturen funktionieren. Es kann gut sein, dass wir künftig zusammenarbeiten.

Woran konkret wird hauptsächlich in Ihrem Lab gearbeitet?

Bei uns geht es um Projekte mit langem Zeithorizont – haben wir etwa eine Vision davon, was die Mixed-Reality-Brille HoloLens in einigen Jahren können soll, dann versuchen wir, dies möglich zu machen. Für uns geht es dabei darum, wie die HoloLens Menschen in der Praxis dabei helfen kann, schwierige Probleme besser zu lösen – etwa bei komplexen Reparaturarbeiten. Wir arbeiten dann etwa daran, wie die Brille ihre Umwelt noch besser wahrnehmen kann oder wie auch verschiedene HoloLens-Exemplare miteinander kommunizieren können.

Wie wird das Lab aufgebaut sein?

Die Arbeit haben wir schon seit Juli aufgenommen und sechs der insgesamt 15 Vollzeitstellen sind bereits besetzt. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns auf die Rekrutierung von Wissenschaftlern in Computer Vision und verwandten Bereichen wie Machine Learning und Robotik. Hinzukommen Stellen für ETH-Doktoranden. Gerade suchen wir Räumlichkeiten in ETH-Nähe. Ich arbeite je zu 50 Prozent am Lab und an der ETH.

Was schätzen Sie an der Parallelität von Hochschul- und Lab-Arbeit?

Ich mag es, mit innovativen Studierenden Brainstorming über grundlegende Probleme zu betreiben, unabhängig zu arbeiten. Aber ich will auch etwas schaffen, das die Welt ein Stück weit verändert. In Zürich kann ich mit Microsoft und der ETH das Beste aus allen Welten miteinander verbinden und davon profitieren meiner Meinung nach alle Seiten.

 

Zur Person:

Marc Pollefeys ist seit 2007 Professor für Informatik an der ETH Zürich und zudem seit 2018 Leiter des Mixed Reality & AI Zurich Lab von Microsoft. Während eines zweijährigen Forschungsaufenthalts bei Microsoft war er an der Weiterentwicklung der Mixed-Reality-Brille HoloLens beteiligt. Er hat für seine Arbeit bereits renommierte Preise erhalten und ist an einigen Start-ups beteiligt.

Interaktive Industrie Karte
Erfolgsgeschichten
+41 44 254 59 59
3:02 pm
+1 415 655 1045
3:02 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
3:02 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)