Switzerland contributes to IBM’s patent record

Rüschlikon ZH – The IT giant IBM received a record number of 9,100 patents last year. This makes it once again the patent leader in the USA. Around 270 patents in 2018 hailed from IBM Research in the Greater Zurich Area.

Inventors at IBM received 9,100 patents last year, announced a statement. This sets another record and makes the IT giant the leading recipient of patents in the USA for the 26th year running. Almost half of the newly patented IBM inventions were in the fields of artificial intelligence (AI), cloud computing, quantum computing and security.

Of the awarded patents, around 270 came from IBM’s research laboratory in Rüschlikon, according to an article on industry platform inside-channels.ch. Among them is neuromorphic technology, or computer systems that are inspired by the biological architecture of the central nervous system. IBM inventors developed an application for creating neuromorphic synapses. The article also highlights an approach for the compression and deduplication of encrypted data.

IBM Research in Rüschlikon was founded in 1956 as the first IBM laboratory outside the USA. Today, it is one of 12 IBM sites with a research laboratory. Its research work ranges from nanotechnology and the development of future generations of computer systems and storage technologies to cloud computing, data protection, supercomputing and simulation, big data analytics and cognitive computing.

Interactive Industry Map
Bi-Monthly Updates

Get our industry newsletters

Clients and cases
+41 44 254 59 59
4:23 am
+1 415 655 1045
4:23 am
+86 21 6235 1889
4:23 am

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)

Schweizer Standort steuert zum Patentrekord von IBM bei

Rüschlikon ZH - Der IT-Riese IBM hat im vergangenen Jahr rekordmässige 9100 Patente erhalten. Damit ist er erneut Patentführer in den USA. Über 270 Patente vom vergangenen Jahr gehen auf das IBM-Forschungslabor in der Greater Zurich Area zurück.

Erfinder bei IBM haben im vergangenen Jahr 9100 Patente in den USA erhalten, wie es in einer Mitteilung heisst. Damit gilt IBM zum 26. Mal in Folge als das führende Unternehmen bei Patenten. Der IT-Riese hat mit dieser Menge an Patenten zudem wieder einen Rekord erzielt. Fast die Hälfte der neu patentierten Erfindungen von IBM sind den Bereichen Künstliche Intelligenz (KI), Cloud Computing, Quantum Computing und Sicherheit zuzuordnen.

Laut einem Artikel der Branchenplattform inside-channels.ch stammen 270 der erteilten Patente aus dem Forschungslabor von IBM in Rüschlikon. Ein Beispiel ist die neuromorphe Technologie. Sie bezieht sich auf Computersysteme, die von biologischen Architekturen des zentralen Nervensystems inspiriert sind. IBM-Erfinder haben einen Ansatz zur Erstellung einer neuromorphen Synapse entwickelt. Hervorgehoben wird im Artikel weiter ein Ansatz zur Komprimierung und Deduplizierung verschlüsselter Daten.

Das IBM-Forschungszentrum in Rüschlikon wurde 1956 als erstes Labor von IBM ausserhalb der USA gegründet. Heute ist es einer von zwölf IBM-Standorten mit einem Forschungslabor. Das Spektrum der Forschungsaktivitäten reicht von der Nanotechnologie über die Entwicklung künftiger Generationen von Computersystemen und Speichertechnologien bis hin zu Cloud Computing, Datenschutz, Supercomputing und Simulation, Big-Data-Analytik und Cognitive Computing. ssp

Interaktive Industrie Karte
Erfolgsgeschichten
+41 44 254 59 59
3:12 am
+1 415 655 1045
3:12 am
+86 21 6235 1889
3:12 am

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)