Zurich to protect fintechs against cyber attacks

Zurich – Zurich has joined forces with international corporations to form a consortium that will protect fintechs from cyber attacks. These companies above all want to prevent hackers being able to attack via the backdoor, through their fintech subsidiaries.

The consortium was led by Zurich, major U.S. bank Citigroup and the U.S. Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (DTCC), as the Financial Times reported in an article. Founding members also include Hewlett Packard Enterprise and Kabbage.

The aim of the consortium is to help fintech startups toughen their defences against cyber attacks. Over the next 12 months, a set of cyber security standards will be developed for fintechs to follow so they can continue to partner with major corporations.

The article writes that while the latter have invested heavily in bolstering their defences against cyber attacks, the same cannot always be said for smaller fintechs when it comes to such threats. By introducing these standards, the companies in the consortium intend to prevent being attacked via their fintech subsidiaries or partners.

According to the Financial Times, the consortium was brought together following a meeting hosted last year by the World Economic Forum in Davos. 

Interactive Industry Map
Bi-Monthly Updates

Get our industry newsletters

Clients and cases
+41 44 254 59 59
4:49 pm
+1 415 655 1045
4:49 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
4:49 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)

Zurich will Fintechs vor Cyberangriffen schützen

Zürich - Zurich schliesst sich mit mehreren internationalen Konzernen zu einem Konsortium zusammen, um Fintechs vor Cyberangriffen zu schützen. Die Unternehmen wollen in erster Linie verhindern, dass sie über ihre Fintech-Töchter von Hackern angegriffen werden.

Das Konsortium wird von Zurich, der amerikanischen Grossbank Citigroup sowie der US-Börsenzulieferin Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation (DTCC) angeführt, wie die „Financial Times“ in einem Artikel schreibt. Mit an Bord sind auch Unternehmen wie Hewlett Packard Enterprise sowie Kabbage.

Ziel des Konsortiums ist es, jungen Fintech-Unternehmen beim Kampf gegen Cyberattacken zu helfen. In den kommenden zwölf Monaten sollen Cyberstandards entwickelt werden. Diesen sollen Jungfirmen beachten, wenn sie mit Grosskonzernen zusammenarbeiten.

Während Grosskonzerne ihre Abwehr gegen Cyberangriffe in den vergangenen Jahren stark ausgebaut haben, seien Jungfirmen weniger gegen solche Risiken gerüstet, schreibt die Zeitung. Die Konzerne hinter dem Konsortium wollen mit den Standards vor allem verhindern, dass sie über ihre Fintech-Töchter oder Partnerfirmen angegriffen werden.

Den Angaben der Zeitung zufolge ist die Idee des Konsortiums im Rahmen des Weltwirtschaftsforums in Davos entstanden. ssp

Interaktive Industrie Karte
Erfolgsgeschichten
+41 44 254 59 59
6:04 pm
+1 415 655 1045
6:04 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
6:04 pm

Subscribe to our newsletter (englisch)