Eawag is the water research institute within the ETH domain. This domain includes the two universities of ETH Zurich and ETH Lausanne (EPFL), and the four independent research institutes Empa, PSI, WSL and Eawag. Firmly anchored in its home country of Switzerland but with a global network, Eawag develops concepts and technology that enable water as a resource and bodies of water to be utilized sustainably.

Eawag's research departments work in three key areas of research:

«Excellent research depends on having a prosperous economic base such as Switzerland. Eawag is one of the world's leading water research institutes, so in collaboration with its partners in the ETH domain it supports all efforts to strengthen the economy, especially in the Zurich region.»

Prof. Dr. Janet Hering, CEO of Eawag

Mission Statement

In collaboration with universities, other research institutes, public bodies, industry and non-governmental organizations, Eawag works to harmonize environmental, economic and social interests with regard to water usage. It thereby serves as a bridge between science and practice.



Prof. Dr. Janet Hering

Deputy CEO
Prof. Dr. Rik Eggen

Department of Aquatic Ecology
Prof. Dr. Jukka Jokela

Department of Urban Water Management
Dr. Tove Larsen

Department of Surface Waters
Prof. Dr. Alfred Johny Wüest

Department of Sanitation and Water for Development
Dr. Christian Zurbrügg

Facts and figures (2015)


Supervised Bachelor's and Master's dissertations


Supervised PhD theses


Number of staff

74 Mio. CHF

Annual expenses

+41 44 254 59 59
12:48 pm
+86 21 6235 1889
12:48 pm

뉴스레터 (영어) 구독 신청